Maggie Dubris

Maggie Dubris is the author of In the Dust Zone (Centre-Ville Books, 2010), Skels (Soft Skull Press, 2004), and Weep Not, My Wanton (Black Sparrow Press, 2002). Her poem, “WillieWorld,” first published as a chapbook by Richard Hell’s Cuz Editions, is now available as an ebook.

For ten years she was guitarist and a principal songwriter for the all-female band Homer Erotic (Homerica the Beautiful, Depth of Field records, 1999), performing at NYC clubs and festivals in Tampa and Las Vegas. In 2010 she was awarded a NYFA fellowship in music for her soundscape work, which has been featured as the sound element in The Vanishing Birds Project and The Vanishing Oceans Project, collaborative installations created with the artist Linda Byrne that have been exhibited in New York and Pittsburgh.

Maggie worked for twenty years as a full-time 911 paramedic in the Times Square district in New York City, and responded to the Trade Center on September 11th. She is currently employed as a professional hypnotist and a paramedic on film and TV sets. She also has a black belt in karate, and worked part-time for Kids Kicking Cancer as a martial arts health care worker.

Latest Book


by Maggie Dubris

Dubris captures that hurried sense of absurdity that other authors, like Denis Johnson, have tackled in the emergency room-trauma story genre. And like Johnson, Dubris harnesses a dry, sick sense of humor . . . Skels conveys the overwhelming feelings one has during epic moments of tragedy.LA Weekly

Learn More

Your book will arrive via USPS in 5-10 business days.

Bill To

Ship To

Learn more about new releases, events, promos and more cool stuff!
Not in the US? Contact us for international order.

Your books are on their way!

Order Number
Here's what you got

Which ships to