Douglas A. Martin

DOUGLAS A. MARTIN was born in Virginia and raised in Georgia. He earned a BA in English from the University of Georgia, an MFA in creative writing from the New School, and a PhD in English from the CUNY Graduate Center.

Martin is the author of the poetry collections My Gradual Demise & Honeysuckle (1994) and Servicing the Salamander (1998) and co-author of The Haiku Year (1998)—a project that required him to compose a haiku a day. He has also published a collection of short stories, They Change the Subject (2005), and a trilogy of prose pieces, Your Body Figured (2008). His novels include Outline of My Lover (2000), named an International Book of the Year in The Times Literary Supplement and a finalist for a Lambda Literary Award; Branwell: A Novel of the Brontë Brother (2006); Once You Go Back (2009); and Wolf (2020).

Latest Book


by Douglas A. Martin

A tender, tragic portrayal of a doomed artist...this volume's beautiful declarative sentences are perfectly fitted to this famously imaginative, headstrong family; they bring Branwell Brontë's world to light.Publishers Weekly

Learn More

Your book will arrive via USPS in 5-10 business days.

Bill To

Ship To

Learn more about new releases, events, promos and more cool stuff!
Not in the US? Contact us for international order.

Your books are on their way!

Order Number
Here's what you got

Which ships to